Once Saved Always Saved? Oh Yes!

Posted: December 9, 2012 in Blessings, Christian Beliefs, From Adventism to Christ, Running the Race, The Bible
Christ and The Pharisees

Christ and The Pharisees (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Introduction

The other night I was going through a long list of comments awaiting approval, it had been a pretty tough week but there was no good reason for me to send one comment to the trash. Simply stated I made a mistake- however it’s a mistake I can rectify by writing a upcoming series of blog articles this one being the first.

In the comment it stated flatly that Once Saved Always Saved (OSASwas one of the Devils’ greatest lies, right away I took great offense at the statement- not just personally but the Holy Spirit that indwells in me made it clear to my spirit that the statement was flat out wrong.

So to be blunt yes I wholly believe in OSAS and in this article I’ll give you a number of reasons why I feel that the Bible backs up OSAS and my beliefs about it.

Born Again

3 There was a man from the Pharisees named Nicodemus, a ruler of the Jews. This man came to Him at night and said, “Rabbi, we know that You have come from God as a teacher, for no one could perform these signs You do unless God were with him.”

Jesus replied, “I assure you: Unless someone is born again, he cannot see the kingdom of God.”

“But how can anyone be born when he is old?” Nicodemus asked Him. “Can he enter his mother’s womb a second time and be born?”

Jesus answered, “I assure you: Unless someone is born of water and the Spirit, he cannot enter the kingdom of God. Whatever is born of the flesh is flesh, and whatever is born of the Spirit is spirit. Do not be amazed that I told you that you must be born again. The wind blows where it pleases, and you hear its sound, but you don’t know where it comes from or where it is going. So it is with everyone born of the Spirit.” John 3:1-8 (Emphasis Mine)

Born Again can be translated as Born of Heaven or Born of God. When we believe unto Salvation God send the Holy Spirit to Indwell and Seal us- He also brings OUR Spirit back to life enabling us to worship Him in Spirit and in Truth.

Being Born of water- Physical Birth is all well and good but we’re Born Spiritually Dead. If someone were to be Born of the water and live a “good” life…perhaps even attend church, help at the soup kitchen, devote time to needy youth- live a full and giving life and not be Born of The Spirit…Born Again…they would still be eternally lost.

Born once Die Twice (Physical Death and the 2nd Death)

Born Twice Die Once

Once a person is Born of God and Indwelled and Sealed by the Spirit that person is Saved. Period. There is nowhere in the Bible where a Believer is UNSEALED.

Alright, well what if this Christian never really grows in his Christian walk and understanding- he’s a poor example of a Christian. He doesn’t do any works to celebrate the new life God has given to him, he barely does anything to differentiate himself from the person he was- what then?

He’s still saved- he hasn’t been unsealed- He’s still destined for Heaven but his eternal rewards at the Bema Seat will be very slight indeed.

How about a Sister in Christ who’s very passionate for God and attacks her new reality with Joy but over the years grows more and more distant from her first love? Her witness deteriorates and it seems as if she won’t make it across the finish line?

She’s still saved…in fact the Word says that some will be taken home to be with the Lord because their witness is degrading…their health is failing spiritually and physically. However at the Bema Seat she will still receive her reward.

Here’s a good question could those who end up “loosing their salvation” never been saved in the first place?

The Parable of the Sower and the Betrayer

That folks is the key, great multitudes are confused about being saved. The Jews believed they had Salvation because they were Children of Abraham, even now vast numbers of people assume that they are saved by their lineage.

“My parents are Christians therefore I am a Christian.”

However Salvation is a personal choice, each individual has to answer the most important question ever put firstly by Christ to the Disciples- “Who do you say that I am?”

That question is being asked of all people on the planet, every person who lives must answer that question.

Also some people are under the illusion that they are capable of making themselves “Born Again” which is complete disregard of the literal translation above.

Being Born again is not a sensation you get walking to the front at a summer camp…to recommit…for the 5th or 6th time.

Born Again is Once and Forever.

I’ve said this before but Salvation is secure it is NOT the Hokey Pokey or a Revolving Door. Nor are you stuck in an elevator going up and down based on your feelings…or waiting for some heretical Investigative Judgment! My Adventist friends that read this blog God the Holy Spirit is Indwelling the Believer no Investigation is needed.

Oh, I’m sorry, the section is supposed to be about those who aren’t actually saved although they might at first glance seem to be.

When Christ explained the Parable of the Sower we find a very interesting description:

20 And the one sown on rocky ground—this is one who hears the word and immediately receives it with joy21 Yet he has no root in himself, but is short-lived. When pressure or persecution comes because of the word, immediately he stumbles. 22 Now the one sown among the thorns—this is one who hears the word, but the worries of this age and the seduction of wealth choke the word, and it becomes unfruitful. 

Matthew 13:20-22 (Emphasis Mine)

These people are very interesting the first one however would last long enough to be confused for a true believer for though they receive the message with Joy they have absolutely no root.

However the thorny ground believer can show signs of being a believer for quite some time depending on how long it takes for their worries to consume them- or for their love of fame or money to choke out the message.

How many people do you know who might be Thorny-ground hearers- it’s a scary thing to be, and from the outside it (for varied lengths of time) could be hard to tell from an actual believer.

Judas Escariot was on of the Twelve. He sat near Christ and heard countless teachings certainly he would’ve become a believer? However his actions betrayed him, he was the treasurer for the group and helped himself to their funds. It was more money from the Pharisees that sealed the fate of the Traitor- and started events that ended with the death, burial and resurrection of Christ to make the way possible through salvation by “the blood of the New Covenant.”

Judas failed to answer- “Who do you say that I am…” in a way that led to Salvation. He was never a believer, he didn’t fall away and his faith was never credited to him as righteousness.

God Cannot Deny Himself

Even if a believer turns his back on God- God cannot turn His back on the believer because “He cannot deny Himself.”

Were I to for some reason regress in my walk God wouldn’t say-

“Oh dear…I didn’t see that coming. Let’s pull the plug-”

Nowhere in scripture is a Believer unsealed- or de-indwelled.

There are overwhelming promises about the security of our salvation.

If we accept the testimony of men, God’s testimony is greater, because it is God’s testimony that He has given about His Son. 10 (The one who believes in the Son of God has this testimony within him. The one who does not believe God has made Him a liar, because he has not believed in the testimony God has given about His Son.) 11 And this is the testimony: God has given us eternal life, and this life is in His Son.

12 The one who has the Son has life. The one who doesn’t have the Son of God does not have life. 13 I have written these things to you who believe in the name of the Son of God, so that you may know that you have eternal life.

1st John 5:9-13 (Emphasis Mine)

God Has given us.

The one who has the son HAS life.

Know that you HAVE eternal life.

Or how about this one-

25 “I did tell you and you don’t believe,” Jesus answered them. “The works that I do in My Father’s name testify about Me. 26 But you don’t believe because you are not My sheep. 27 My sheep hear My voice, I know them, and they follow Me. 28 I give them eternal life, and they will never perish—ever! No one will snatch them out of My hand. 29 My Father, who has given them to Me, is greater than all. No one is able to snatch them out of the Father’s hand. 30 The Father and I are one.” John 10:25-30 (Emphasis Mine)

On the night I was Born again I experienced this verse in an astounding way.

I Heard His voice.

“Take my hand and I will never let you out of my hand.”

And I came to the end of myself and I came to know Him through my decision.

And He knew me.

And after I’d been transferred from the Domain of Darkness to the Kingdom of the Son He Loves, He spoke again to me as I was filled and Indwelt by the Spirit.

“Since you’ve taken My hand I will never let you out of My hand.”

There was never a doubt then and there still isn’t one.

The Believer is Saved, Sealed and Indwelled, destined for Heaven and eternity with our God and Savior Jesus Christ.

Once Saved Always Saved!

To close here’s an illustration of how secure the believer is In Christ.

In Christ,

Ross

Comments
  1. scoumbes says:

    This was interesting to me. I have done a lot of studying on this particular subject trying to understand it, because I did regress in my walk when I was younger and I was curious of what that would have meant if I would have died during that time. The one thing you said that really makes sense to me is this:

    “Were I to for some reason regress in my walk God wouldn’t say-

    “Oh dear…I didn’t see that coming. Let’s pull the plug-”

    Nowhere in scripture is a Believer unsealed- or de-indwelled.”

    This is like, “duh, why didn’t I think of that?” God would not save someone and then un-save them later, that would be so silly. He already knows who will fall away and struggle. I think that you know in your heart if you are truly saved, and if you are having feelings of doubt that is a good sign you need to, “get right with God” as they call it.

    • rossbondreturns says:

      Thanks for reading the article and your reply scoumbes.

      Once I was saved even after hearing God’s promise to me I was wary of wholly believing I was saved for sure. It took some time to go over passages of scripture with God the Holy Spirit before I was certain.

      Another thing to consider if you’re having feelings of doubt about your salvation, perhaps Satan is subtly calling you to focus too much on whether you “feel” you saved than on focusing on what God’s word says about the certainty of you being saved.

      During these times you should go back to the Word and read up on the many promises of God.

      Remember that your Salvation is kept in Heaven with/by God- I can’t remember the quote exactly. But suffice it to say that’s security.

      Thanks for stopping by and God Bless.

      To God be the Glory!

      Ross

      • Dustin says:

        Ross,

        I really enjoyed this blog. I was excited to read it when we were discussing it the other night and now that it has been written it was very informative to me. I find peace in something you said in your above comment about how Satan manipulates us through our “feelings”. I believe that as a Christian, he attacks our feelings more than anything especially if one has been raised in a false doctrine. In my case, the older I got and the more I distanced myself from the false teachings that doubt and insecurity in my salvation was a huge valley for me to walk through. I appreciate you pointing out that feelings can be a tactic used by the enemy. This blessed me. Thank you.

      • rossbondreturns says:

        Hey Dustin,

        Glad you enjoyed the article- I’m my own worst enemy and always think of all the great points that I should have included but thought of later! 🙂 I wrote a short devotional on Feelings Vs. Spiritual Reality and focusing on what the Bible says about your feelings over what Satan is trying to convince you your feelings mean.

        I’ll try and rustle up a copy but I think it’s on my other (practically dead) laptop.

        Hope to see you tonight at Men of Courage…because no matter where you end up for small groups you’re gonna be blessed as we’ve got fantastic verses to discuss.

        In Christ,

        Ross

      • Dustin says:

        I will definantly be there. I would love to get my hands on that devotional if you can retrieve it. Thanks for all of the encouragement you have given through your writing.

      • Dustin says:

        I have a question that’s stymied me over the years. Growing up, OSAS was always taught as a lie from the devil because Christ requires more from us. Now that I am starting to understand Him more, I can appreciate the depth of the OSAS belief. What if someone accepts Christ’s invitation of eternal life but then does absolutely nothing to change (I.E. They don’t have a true repentant heart). Will that person still be saved even if they continue in the sin they were in although they accepted Christ?

      • rossbondreturns says:

        In our discussion last night we talked about how James tells us we need to prune the garden of our lives. In other words when we sin we need to lay it aside so that they don’t choke out the good fruit in our garden. This can be a slow process…sometimes glacially. However I believe that a person who has truly been Born Again will eventually begin to change and tend to the garden of their lives because they are a new creation and the Holy Spirit won’t stop transforming you- Body-Soul and Spirit until the Day of Christ Jesus.

        I honestly don’t believe anyone who is Born Again will always keep in their old ways, sill they sin…well of course. However they will be convicted of that sin…and will learn to weed their spiritual garden more and more because as Christ changes your heart- you’d be hard pressed to fight against putting the changes into action because you are going to grow into a person who does want to spiritually change because as a believer that is what you should truly desire.

        In Christ,

        Ross

      • Dustin says:

        Last night Pastor Greg said something interesting at the end of his message and it made me think of this blog entry. He touched on the OSAS subject and how God sees as as saved and sealed once we accept His gift of salvation. It was interesting to me that he brought this up and made me think that this blog entry was Divinely appointed to happen at the time you wrote it. Last night felt like a confirmation of this. I’m not sure who else besides me had questions about OSAS but I feel that this blog entry was more than just something that you decided to write on a whim. God is reaching people through this blog site and I am grateful for your receptive heart to His leading. I just wanted to encourage you today to keep being a light because it is touching people in more ways than you know.

      • rossbondreturns says:

        Thanks Dustin,

        There is not a post on this blog that didn’t appear exactly when God wanted it to. That’s one of the reasons that they can take so long to appear in some cases. God The Holy Spirit puts something on my heart and He just impresses it upon me until I write about it. Then when I go to write about it He makes sure it says all that needs to be said to get the point across accurately.

        Thanks for your continued encouragement, I can tell you that God timed your impact into my life just right- just as I am able to bless you Through God…you are being a blessing to me.

        In thinking on your last sentence once we get to Heaven I can’t wait to meet the people that God reached through my service to Him.

        To God be the Glory!

        Ross

  2. Dustin says:

    Ross,

    I have a question that sort of fits the vein of this post. What happens to a Christian if they WILLFULLY sin against God? Someone who knows the right path but chooses the other path out of flesh and ego. Does God hold that sin in higher contempt?

    • rossbondreturns says:

      Hey Dustin,

      If they willfully sin against God it usually leads to another trip around the mountain so to speak as far as I’m concerned. I believe though that to the Lord Sin is Sin. All sin can be forgiven and all sin is covered by His spilled blood. He will chasten you when you do wrong, and convict you to come to Him for forgiveness. Should you do that you sin will be forgiven…and since we often sin…whether willfully or not…we will be convicted often…and take our failures to the Lord often. For “He is faithful and Just to forgive us our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”

      In Christ,

      Ross

  3. beiiiiiiiiiiiii says:

    What is your take on Hebrews 9
    :27?

    • rossbondreturns says:

      Hello Brian,

      Hebrews 9:27 is a very familiar verse and teaches against reincarnation- it also lets us know that everyone who dies will next face judgment.

      27 And as it is appointed for men to die once, but after this the judgment,
      The New King James Version. Nashville : Thomas Nelson, 1982, S. Heb 9:27

      In other words when you or I die we will be judged by God we will be judged either in Commendation (Bema Seat of Christ) for Believers only or the Great White Throne Judgment (for Non-believers only) a judgment of condemnation.

      You’ll notice there is a comma after verse 27 which means the next verse is part of the same thought- a conclusion of the statement in verse 27.

      28 so Christ was offered once to bear the sins of many. To those who eagerly wait for Him He will appear a second time, apart from sin, for salvation.

      The New King James Version. Nashville : Thomas Nelson, 1982, S. Heb 9:28

      It states that Christ was offered on the cross to carry our sins as the perfect sinless sacrifice. It also says that those who eagerly wait for His coming will be ready when he comes a second time. This coming has nothing to do with sin/judgment (apart from sin) but he comes to bring salvation.

      What a great promise!

      By the way Brian, none of these responses are “my takes” they are what God the Holy Spirit who lives in me has led me to believe, they are his opening of the Word to me.

      In Christ,

      Ross

Leave a Reply

