bibles

Image by fancycwabs via Flickr

As an Adventist most of my time was spent listening to sermons delivered by family and friends that featured a lot of proof texting to prove a point that supported their already held beliefs. I had no idea at the time that I was dangerously unprepared for any kind of Spiritual Warfare that would rear its ugly head in my life. Sure I went out with the knowledge I had, but I might as well have been shooting blanks, I was dangerously under powered. I had practically no knowledge of Biblical truth, while I could feel and sense the oppressive spiritual forces of the enemy constantly on the attack and threatening to overwhelm me.

On the night I was born again as I’ve shared here in the past God allowed me to experience in every sense of the word the spiritual battle that was raging over my eternal Spirit. I was woefully unprepared from a personal standpoint but as I trusted God to never give me more than I could handle I knew there was a reason for the overwhelming nature of the display of God’s true power that night. That reason was a confirmation, the Holy Spirit had been leading my walk for a while by the time the events of this night came around, this night I was to confirm my decision.

 

Did I fully trust that the Word was Truth? Did I fully believe that the Word had become flesh and that He lived a perfect life, was crucified, laid in the tomb, and was raised from the dead? Did I believe that I was born in sin and this sacrifice released me from that sin…that God would see me as putting on Christ? Did I believe in the God and Jesus of the Bible or the God and Jesus of Adventism?

Since I chose to choose the God of the Bible that night, God came to live in this humble fractured human temple through the Holy Spirit. God is in Me! And if God is for me who can be against me!

The Holy Spirit came to live in this body, a Temple for Him, and He filled me and Sealed me with His Spirit. I am certain to live with HIm for eternity and I am part of His Bride, the very same Bride of Christ that contains Peter, John, Paul, and many other amazing people I can’t wait to commune with in eternity!

Yet as amazing as that is it’s not the most amazing thing, the most amazing thing is that The Holy Spirit is opening the Word to me in ways that make the Word come alive. The passages I proof texted with as a child, are now revealed in context and through the leadership of the Holy Spirit to be powerful ammunition in Spiritual Warfare. Not always to fend off the enemy, and not only to guide others into the truth, but in all ways acknowledging Him- and letting Him direct my path.

What I recommend to you is that every morning you study the word through the power of the Holy Spirit if only for a few minutes. You put on the armor of God mentioned in Ephesians Chapter 6 before you step out into the world. That way you can be prepared to follow the Teachings of Christ no matter where they might lead and take heart as Paul here says to Timothy through the Holy Spirit so says he to us right now in this time:

1 Before God and Christ Jesus, who is going to judge the living and the dead, and by His appearing and His kingdom, I solemnly charge you: 2 proclaim the message; persist in it whether convenient or not; rebuke, correct, and encourage with great patience and teaching. 3 For the time will come when they will not tolerate sound doctrine, but according to their own desires, will accumulate teachers for themselves because they have an itch to hear something new. 4 They will turn away from hearing the truth and will turn aside to myths. 5 But as for you, keep a clear head about everything, endure hardship, do the work of an evangelist, fulfill your ministry.

Our ministry is to share the Gospel with the World, and you can do that on any street. Always be ready to give testimony to those who ask, and let the Spirit speak through you the words He would have you say each and every day.

Leave a Reply

