Getting the Message Out!

Posted: August 12, 2010 in Blessings, Christian Beliefs, From Adventism to Christ, Outreach, The Bible

Getting The Message Out

Act 2:17 ‘This is what I will do in the last days, God says: I will pour out my Spirit on everyone. Your sons and daughters will proclaim my message; your young men will see visions, and your old men will have dreams.
Act 2:18 Yes, even on my servants, both men and women, I will pour out my Spirit in those days, and they will proclaim my message.

Acts 2:17-18

Proclaiming the Message of God

Proclaiming the message of God is something that I am driven to do, I just can’t help it and I don’t even have to be around anyone. The message of Gods’ Love, the Sacrifice of His Son, and his Gift of Eternal life through Grace spill out of my mouth simply when I’m walking down the street. This is why I now carry a digital voice recorder with me wherever I go because every declaration of the Message of God is so powerful that it shouldn’t just grace my ears but even those of just one other person.

Before I Had The Message

This is not how I used to be. There was a time when I wouldn’t share my faith for anything and I didn’t for a variety of reasons. First of all I used to be exceptionally nervous about speaking in public, fear of ridicule kept my mouth closed. Secondly as sad as this is I didn’t want to share what I believed, when what you believe isn’t even decided in your soul you shouldn’t be sharing it. I didn’t share the Adventist truth because it is a lie, and sharing a lie that isn’t going to lead down the narrow path is bad enough; but to knowingly send souls down a path that would lead to Eternal Hellfire, unthinkable.

I’m not a fallen angel, I’m a Son of the King of Kings, and so I waited for the truth. My Mum challenged me stating that if Adventism was wrong I should read my Bible and seek out the truth for myself. To be entirely honest I don’t think she thought I’d actually do it; I was loath to pick up the Bible and look into it for myself. Part of that was conditioning, the church made it preferable simply to trust the pastors and trust the Sabbath School lesson studies. Which of course were, and still are, prepared within the denomination so naturally lean towards Adventist beliefs. I also remember being told to “Honor my Father and Mother” on numerous occasions, although I could have tripped myself up with that.

Diving Into The Word

Much to my surprise I found that studying the Bible was not only far more interesting than I’d assumed, but it was painting a much different message than the one I’d been led to believe. Not only that but I was finding a freedom that the legalism of Adventism had all but choked out of me, not to mention everyone else. I’d recommend to anyone in a legalistic religion to read the New Testament Matthew through Revelation, it will revolutionize the way you see God.

Through my studies I was given back my sight, I realized that what saved me wasn’t worshiping on a certain day, or being part of a denomination. The truth, the key to the message of God is so simple that people can’t accept its simplicity; they add to it works, a certain day or a set of rules. To those people I say the veil to the Temple was torn in two from top to bottom for a reason, God was saying you have direct access to me through my Son.

From that point, once we’ve confessed our sins and given them up to Christ and accepted that gift of Salvation by Grace through Faith we have done all we can. The Holy Spirit comes into us, and it overwhelms us and gives Our Spirit a torrential shower of Healing Rain. Our Spirit is regenerated and it worships with the Holy Spirit inside of us. God’s Laws are placed in our hearts and we have not only a desire to do them like we had before but because of the Holy Spirit in us we now have a natural inclination to follow in Jesus way. We are no longer slaves to Sin and our old selves in fact we feel horrible when we sin and because of that we strive not to sin as much. However since we still have a sin nature our sinning will not stop, it will continue until we are perfected when our Savior comes to take us home.

The Ten Commandments are not there to save, they’re there to condemn and convict. They’re set exactly where they are to give us time to figure out that they’re pointing us towards our only Savior who hung on a cross for us. The only one who died and rose again because God would not let sin defile His only begotten Son.

Jesus Christ fulfilled all the Old Testament shadows, He is the Passover Lamb, He is the Ten Commandments perfected, and He is the Lord of the Sabbath. In other words he fulfilled those things perfectly Jesus cast the shadow of Himself back across time to the Israelites in the desert. His shadow represented the Passover Lamb and it’s blood on the doorposts. His shadow represented the perfection of the 10 Commandments that only He could ever fulfill. His shadow represented the true Sabbath Rest that can only be found when you rest in Him and stop trying to save yourself.

Stop trying to knit the veil back up, God tore it for a reason!

Now that is a truth I can share, that is the Message of God for the time we’re living in now.

You simply need a deep personal relationship with Christ Jesus, you need to repent of your sins, and accept that free gift of Grace by Faith. Join the Lord your God in His rest and relax because you are safe and secure in His hands. Study God’s Word and Pray whenever you feel like praying because God loves to hear from His children, and such an intelligent decision will help draw you closer to God in your walk.

Apparently I’m Old

You see I’m dreaming dreams, and not just dreams where I’m falling, eating endless pans of lasagna or suddenly finding myself inappropriately devoid of clothing. No these dreams that I have been having recently have been dreams of understanding, dreams to show me that I am walking in the right direction and that I have made the right choices in my spiritual life.

Early this morning I had a dream that I was attending a church where everyone was dressed up like they were going to the Opera. All of them were going into this church and I was in amongst them but from the looks I was getting as we went DOWN the spiraling ramp to the sanctuary told me that I had on the wrong clothes.

Sure enough I looked down and found I was dressed like I was heading off to Calvary Chapel, jean shorts, t-shirt and running shoes. I know I said something because people flinched back and as they did I began to run, back UP the ramp, I suppose I was using the Sword of the Lord to clear a path. All that I know for certain is that the ramp was getting really hot and the people on the ramp were trying to latch on and take me down with them.

They were using the word back, but their word wasn’t as powerful as mine, I can only assume it was because they weren’t seeing it as clearly. Whatever the reason I reached the top of the ramp and flung myself out of the doors, the heat coming off them was intense but I landed in SNOW!

Cold, pure, white snow, and it was blanketing everything.

One last person tried to drag me back in: “You don’t want to be lost!”

I looked into her eyes with sadness, because I realized that she looked almost exactly like my sister. Planting my feet in the snow I pulled her towards me and heard my only words from my dream.

“I’m free, won’t you join me!”

There was a look on her face, a look of almost belief, and then she was pulled from my grasp. Falling back into the snow, into my sins washed by the blood of my savior, I for a moment didn’t know what to do. After a few moments I took off running through the snow, running through mounds and jumping over snow covered hedges.

I didn’t need to say anything; I knew I was free, ecstatically and wonderfully free.

Will You Join Me

As a Christian it is our job to proclaim Gods’ Message to the world, to get the Good News out. Will you help me to get the simple plan of Salvation out to others? Let’s help not only those that we don’t know, but also our family members and friends find that the true grace of Salvation is amazingly simple.

We simply need a living, daily, relationship with God the Father, through Jesus the Son, and the indwelling of the Holy Spirit.

In Christ,

Ross

Leave a Reply

