Trust in God

Posted: May 7, 2010 in Blessings, Christian Beliefs, The Bible

Trust in God

Psalm 13

Prayer for Help in Trouble.

For the choir director. A Psalm of David.

1 How long, O Lord? Will You forget me forever? How long will You hide Your face from me?2 How long shall I take counsel in my soul, Having sorrow in my heart all the day? How long will my enemy be exalted over me?
3 Consider and answer me, O Lord my God; Enlighten my eyes, or I will sleep the sleep of death,4 And my enemy will say, “I have overcome him,” And my adversaries will rejoice when I am shaken.
5 But I have trusted in Your lovingkindness; My heart shall rejoice in Your salvation.6 I will sing to the Lord, Because He has dealt bountifully with me.

Psalms 13:1-6 (NASB)

Sometimes we find ourselves in trouble so deep that we can’t see a way out of it. Whether you have placed your life in Christ’s hands or not there are times when you can and will feel alone and lost. Times when trouble seems ready to swallow you up, and you might just feel as David feels right here.

David feels as if his Lord has forgotten him, that his Lord has turned His back on the King of Israel. David is asking how much longer he will have to search his own soul for answers to his questions. How long will he be chased, plotted against and on the run, will he never find peace? How long will Saul triumph against me?

 

Please think of me and answer my questions or I shall be lost without you. I shall die not knowing you. And my enemy will say, “I have taken you down and made yours mine.”

And there will be much rejoicing among them because I have fallen.

However, I always have trusted in your unfailing love. My heart rejoices because you always bring salvation. I will sing praises to you Oh Lord, for your mercies are overflowing towards me.

God had you in mind before time began; he knew you and created you in your mother’s womb (that’s in the book of Psalms too). He wants us to come to Him, and to trust in Him again. God never changes, His word never changes, His Love never changes. Even if you’ve walked your entire life turning away from Him, if you’ve turned to drugs, smoking, drinking, or sex addictions. He’s still calling you back arms open, heart bursting with love just for you. Unending and unconditional love.

Turn back to Him, and find compassion, find peace, find friendship and find eternal life through His son Jesus Christ. He wants you to return to Him. He has always been your creator, and he yearns to be your Father, give Him that chance.

 In Christ,

 Ross

Leave a Reply

